Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle wins Richard H. Driehaus Foundation award

Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle, “Art in the Twenty-First Century,” production still, 2007.

Art21 artist Iñigo Manglano-Ovalle (Season 4) is the winner of a 2008 individual artist award granted by the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation. This award recognizes artists living in the Chicago area and aims to support and encourage “excellence, artistry, focus, direction, maturity, and originality in the visual arts.” The fifteen thousand dollar prize is awarded to three artists each year to support their work and future achievements.

Other winners of the 2008 individual artist award include Jason Lazarus and Anne Wilson. A jury of five arts professionals selected the recipients of the award and included Susanne Ghez, director of the Renaissance Society; Lane Relyea, professor at Northwestern University; Lisa Dorin, assistant curator of contemporary art at the Art Institute of Chicago; Carol Ehlers, independent curator; and Nick Cave, artist and past winner of this award.